Travel – London, UK

Welcome back!

It’s been a while since a wrote about my journeys, but finally, I can share my experience in London, a beautiful and cosmopolitan city in Europe. I explored the city and the surroundings in 4 full days. First of all, you need to know that London is an expensive city, but if you make some compromises you will be able to visit London. Also, read my posts How to Plan a Low Budget Vacation and 5 Tips to Save Money on Vacation you might find some tips.

I flew in mid-March from Romania (Iasi) to London with Wizz Air (European low-cost airline company) and in 2 and a half hours I was there. The weather was quite windy, no rain and the nights were quite cold.

From and to airport (one way) – Luton Airport
– bus: £10 (with easyBus)
– train: find your price here
– taxi: from £50
– uber: from £50

Accommodation: well, London is not a cheap city went it comes to accommodation, try to find deals on Booking and TripAdvisor preferably with 3 months in advance. If is still too expensive for you, try BnBs, search on Airbnb to find a nice accommodation.

Transportation
I really liked the London public transportation, it’s easy to use and efficient. In London to use public transportation you will have to buy a ticket or use Oyster card (available just in the city zones). I advise you to use the Oyster card because is cheaper, easy to use and you’ll save time. In every station are machines where you can buy your Oyster (£5, wich are refundable when you leave the city) after that all you need to do is to top up with money. For more information enter here.

What to see

Buckingham Palace
london (2)

Palace of Westminster (Houses of Parliament)london (4)

London Bridgelondon (6)

Westminster Cathedral
london (3)

These are the most known attractions in London, but there are more things to see.

What to visit

Natural History Museum
I really encourage you to visit it, you will have a lot to learn and the admission is free.london (1)

London Eye
If you want to see London from above. Tickets fees, online from £22.45
london (5)

Tower of London
Entrance fee £28
london

In London, at every corner you have something interesting to visit, so just go on foot and let the city to surprise you.

Shopping
In London no matter of your budget, you can still find something, on Oxford Street or Bond Street you will find the luxury brands, if you don’t afford them you still have to go just to see how beautiful are those areas. If you are on a budget go to Westfield, a huge mall, where you can find more affordable shops. Also, I would like to mention Poundland and TkMaxx.

Where to eat
I have to be honest and say to you that the restaurants are pricey, check this list with places that have more affordable prices. If you have a tight budget try to make also some supermarket shopping, Tesco and Lidl are some great choices.

Surroundings
London is quite close to the sea, so if you have time and want to spend half a day or a full seeing seagulls, watching the tide, and just enjoy the sun, go for it. Use trains and in 1 or 2 hours, depending on where you want to go, you will be there. The ticket prices are from £12.
london (2)

Weather
This was my first journey when I literally didn’t know what to pack because the weather is quite unpredictable in the UK. In the end, I packed spring clothes (trousers, blouses and cardigans) and my autumn coat, yes, don’t laugh, because was my best friend when the sun was gone. My advice if you travel in spring or autumn is to check the weather, Wunderground and Foreca are my go to when it comes to that, and keep in mind that at night will be much cooler, so pack a warm cardigan or a coat.

I really enjoyed London, I’ve discovered an interesting culture, beautiful buildings, and very nice people.

Follow me if you like my blog and don’t forget to check my social media
Instagram ♦ Twitter ♦ Facebook

One thought on “Travel – London, UK

Leave a Reply

